-8- IT’S A SOAPY WORLD – FAIR CITY

So far, I’ve been watching shows from all over the world in languages I don’t understand. This post will change that. I’m watching a daily soap opera from Ireland called Fair City.

Fair City has aired on RTÉ One since 1989. It has become Ireland’s most popular and longest-running soap opera with an average viewership of 555,000.

WATCH FAIR CITY: http://www.rte.ie/player/ca/show/fair-city-715/10714774/

LIVE COMMENTARY FOR FAIR CITY – AIR DATE 04/16/2017

I don’t know if it was important or not, but a ridiculously tall person wearing a rabbit costume holding a turkey leg walks across the screen in the first frame. These two ladies walk by it and DON’T EVEN NOTICE.

Now some lady is getting ready in her room. A bald guy comes in to get ready too. When he’s looking for a shirt to wear, he finds a receipt for a hotel room on the floor.

Now some girl is in a weird closet room… A guy brings her some coffee. I think she’s hiding from someone.

This is exactly like a North American soap opera. It’s something you just can’t jump into without knowing the whole story.

Lucky for you, a recap episode will air soon that outlines major plot points from the beginning of the show. Becuase Fair City has started to air in Scotland, the new British station (STV2) thought it would be a good way to introduce people to the show.

So the lady and the bald guy are getting divorced I think. She wants to move to Barcelona. She wants to take the kids too. Yikes.

This show has a lot more flow than other soap operas. I think it’s because the sets look more real than shows like “Days of Our Lives” or “The Young and the Restless.” The characters dress and talk normally, which is much less distracting than over dramatic acting.

The bald guy’s kids just full blown revealed their mom’s affair. Wild.

Closet update: It’s not a closet. It’s a secret room in the back of his garage.

The bald guy confronted his wife, but didn’t let her know that he knew. So high school of him.

Okay, I have to acknowledge that one character has an Irish-Chicago accent. I heard it earlier, but I couldn’t tell what on earth it was. I can, without a doubt, say I’ve never heard an accent like this. Please, do yourself a favour and watch this episode just to hear it. YOU’LL NEVER BE ABLE TO UNHEAR IT. Right around 20 minutes in.

A bomb gets dropped on the bald guy (oh okay his name is Paul). I’m not sure who Hailey is, or why she’s important, but he sure looked shocked. You can find out on the next episode.

THE VERDICT

Like I said, I really enjoyed how normal the show felt in comparison to some overdramatic soap operas. There wasn’t a huge cast of characters in the episode, and I think I could eventually figure out what was going on if I watched a few more episodes.

I don’t think the Irish-Chicago accent guy is in every episode, but he should be. He’s like a soap opera siren.

I think I figured out why the rabbit was at the begging. EASTER. Duh. Please let that be why it was there… please.

Leave a Reply

